

Honorary Members of the Choir Schools' Association

The following were elected to honorary membership following notable contributions to the affairs of the Association. *Individual achievements of note are also recorded.*

Association. Individual achievements of note are also recorded.					
Mr Jonathan Milton	Tewkesbury, WACS	Chairman 2007-9	Elected in 2020		
Mrs Elizabeth Cairncross	Wells	Ch. 2009-11	El. 2019 Cambridge		
Mr Roger Overend	WACS, Rochester	Ch. 2011-14	El. 2019 Cambridge		
Mr Timothy Cannell Chaired first CSA National Safeguardin	Chichester ng Conference 2015	Ch. 2014-16	El. 2018 St Paul's, London		
Mr Robert Bacon Responsible for astute investment of C	Canterbury CSA funds	Treasurer 2006-15	El. 2016 Portsmouth		
Rev'd Canon Dr Brian Rees Set up sub-committees that became the	Pilgrims', Winchester he working party operating in pa	Ch. 2004-6 artnership with the committe	El. 2012 Salisbury e		
Mr Robin Kiel MBE Outstanding support of the Association	Department for Education n through the Music and Dance	Scheme and Chorister Outr	El. 2010 Oxford reach endorsement		
Mr Christopher Helyer	Grimsby, Exeter, Salisbury	Ch. 1981	El. 2008 Liverpool		
Mr Peter Lacey	Gloucester	Ch. 2006-7	El. 2007 Gloucester		
Canon Dr Howard Tomlinson	Hereford	Ch. 2002-4	El. 2007 Gloucester		
Canon Richard White MBE Polwhele House, Truro Ch. 1999-02 El. 2003 Winchester Founding head of the choir school in Truro1982: Creator and director of the national chorister outreach scheme to primary schools 1999-2008: Appointed CSA's first Director of Development 2002: MBE for services to music education 2009					
Mr Christopher Brown	Norwich	Ch. 1997-9	El. 2002 Hereford		
Mr John Baxter	Wells	Ch. 1995-7	El. 2000 Canterbury		
Mr Richard Moore	Ripon	Ch. 1993-5	El. 2000 Canterbury		
Rev'd Canon Robert Western	Lincoln	Ch. 1984	El. 1996 Wells		
Dr John Moore +	Worcester	Ch. 1991-3	El. 1995 Ripon		
Dr Richard Shephard MBE Commission member for the Archbishe MBE for services to music and educate		Ch. 1989-91 Lambeth doctorate of musi	El. 1995 Ripon c 2002:		
Mr Miles Amherst + 2013 Founding Head of Tewkesbury Abbey	Tewkesbury Choir School		El. 1994 Norwich		
Mr Michael Barcroft Founder of the Choir Schools Review	Peterborough	Ch. 1980	El. 1994 Norwich		
Mr Gerald Peacocke First chairman to hold office for two ye	King's Cantab ears	Ch. 1985-7	El. 1993 Worcester		
Mr George Hill	Windsor	Secretary	1992 Windsor		
Mr W. B. Cook	Magdalen Oxon	Treasurer	1992 Windsor		
Mr R. H. E. Russell CVO	Windsor	Ch. 1979	1990 York		

Mr Alan Mould Author of The English Chorister	St John's Cantab	Ch. 1977	El. 1990 York		
Mr Christopher Martin Initiated a more formal two and a half	Bristol day conference	Ch. 1987-9	El. 1990 York		
Mr Barry Sutton Founder of the Bursary Trust	Hereford		1988 Tewkesbury		
Mr R. Ford + 2011	Rochester	Ch. 1978	1987 New College Ox		
Rev'd J. P. H. Hobson	Reigate	Ch. 1957	1983 Winchester		
Mr D. M. W. Roberts	Lichfield	Ch. 1971	El. 1979 Peterborough		
Mr D. M. Annett	Worcester		El. 1979 Peterborough		
Mr D. J. Jewell +	Bristol	Ch. 1976	El. 1976 Hereford		
Rev'd Canon D.R. Vicary +	Rochester	Ch. 1967	El. 1973 St John's Cam		
Rev'd J. Llewellyn	St Paul's	Ch. 1963	El. 1974 St Paul's		
Mr B. J. Rushby-Smith	Southwell	Ch. 1949	El. 1972 Christ Church Ox		
Mr H. J. H. Weekes	Winchester College	Ch. 1950	El. 1971 Windsor		
Mr N. L. Westbury-Jones	Llandaff	Ch. 1952	El. 1958 All Saints M.S.		
Rev'd A. Jessop-Price	St Paul's		El. 1958 All Saints M.S.		
Mr E. W. Davies	Rochester	Ch. 1951	El. 1957 Magdalen Ox		
Preb. E. F. Walters	Lichfield	Ch. 1959	El. 1957 Magdalen Ox		
Very Rev'd J. Green	New York		El. 1956 Bristol		
Mr C. H. Baines	New College Oxon	Ch. 1943	El. 1956 Bristol		
Rev'd S. Senior	St John's Cantab		El. 1956		
Rev'd A. R. Duncan-Jones	Chichester	Ch. 1960	El. 1952		
Mr E. J. Searle	Reigate		El. 1952 Rochester		
Rev'd W. R. Foster	All Saints Margaret St		El. 1950 Winchester		
Mr Claisse	Edinburgh		El. 1948 Westminster		
Mr Coombes	Llandaff		El. 1948 Westminster		
Rev'd F. H. Hilliard			El. 1947 Lichfield		
Rev'd Canon B. A. Hardy	Chester	Ch. 1945	El. 1947 Lichfield		
Rev'd R. H. Couchman + 1947 St Paul's Joint founder together with the Rev'd W. E. Morgan of Westminster Abbey of the Choir Schools' Association in 1918					

NOTE: + = deceased

Earlier records are not always clear about elections to honorary membership. For a period, from about 1983, retiring members were entitled to hon. membership if they personally wished it. The letters El. are not included on the list in these instances. Of the 43 one year chairmen between 1947 and 1985, 17 were elected to hon. membership and 18 were ordained. From 1985 (when chairmen held office for two years) to the present day, all chairmen have been elected to hon. membership but only one has been ordained.

The list serves as a fitting reminder of several choral foundations that are no longer with us; Eton, Chester, Winchester College, Clifton College, St Michael's Tenbury, Tewkesbury Abbey, All Saints Margaret Street, London, Polwhele House, Truro and The Minster School, York.